The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Snipe - Frampton Marshes

One last birding hurrah before we headed back to Wales.

We called into Frampton Marshes on the way home after saying goodbye to Julie, and stopping for our now traditional big breakfast at Dawn's parents house. We have brought my brother-in-law, Richard, back with us, He's staying for a week.

Frampton looked rather resplendent in the late summer sun. We plonked ourselves in the 360 hide and waited to see what came along. The answer was quite a lot. There seemed to be a lot of snipe around. I counted about half a dozen with a simple sweep of the binoculars. There were more Little Stints, a number of Ruff and all the usual waders. It looks like a picked a really good week to be on the East coast, with migration in full swing. I didn't tick off anything new today, but never mind. To get some pretty decent close-up photo's of the Snipe and Little Egrets was a pretty good reward for what was quite a fleeting visit.

The journey back was much less eventful as the one going to North Norfolk (that seems like a lifetime ago now). We called in my brothers to give him his birthday present I bought in Cromer Zoo. The kids were on top form.

And so I finally sink into my own bed, a manic month behind me. A new one ahead. One with not quite so much travelling involved!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.