My Names Not Susan!

By dotcomjohnny

Nikon F3P

I think I mentioned in my previous blip that I have a passion obsession for collecting old vintage Nikon cameras. Well, from time to time, if you search long and hard, certain little gems materialise.

Apart from scouring second hand shops, charity shops and car boot sales I still need my daily eBay fix too, which is where I found this gorgeous beauty!

It was quite obvious from the listing that the previous owner didn't have a clue to the significance of this camera! Maybe to him it was just another ordinary F3, but if you know your Nikon's you couldn't fail to notice the hot shoe on the HP prism (DE-5). Only one camera is equipped with a DE-5 - the legendary Nikon F3P (Press or Professional).

Originally the F3P was available just to professionals through Nikon Professional Services, but later available to the general public. The camera featured a non-TTL hot-shoe above the viewfinder, which had a titanium cover, B type focusing screen, no cable release socket, no self-timer, no eyepiece blind, special weather sealing, and a larger, easier to grasp shutter speed dial. It also came with a stock MF-6/6B film back that left the film leader sticking out when the MD-4 was used to rewind the film back in the canister.

The other tell tail sign of the F3P is the serial number, it starts out as "P 90xxxxx".

At £45 (no i haven't missed a nought off) I think I got the bargain of a life time!

My Names not Susan, but thanks for stopping by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.