Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

Hooves

I really don't understand how some people can be obsessed with shoes. To me, they are simply something practical to protect our feet from the elements because, unlike horses, we don't have hooves.

Here are my trusty Birkos (as I affectionately call them) which I start wearing as early as possible in the year and continue wearing as late as possible in the year. Even when cycling. Yes, I know that's just stupid.

A couple of bits of news that warmed the cockles of my heart today:

1) it looks like the ATOS offices in Norwich are going to move from their current premises which are inaccessible for wheelchair users to somewhere with much better access. I think they got the message from the monthly protests which have been taking place outside their offices regularly once a month for several months.

The ATOS offices, when they have moved, will be in the same building as Norwich Job Centre. Which is also good because it's much nearer the city centre which means that future protests against ATOS will attract the attention of more people.

(The Norwich Job Centre is where a young man drove a car through the front doors earlier this year as he was so frustrated and distressed by the way he had been treated. His driving skills were to be applauded, as he didn't seriously injure or kill anyone. He got sent to prison).

2) A friend of mine was sent a survey by his local Council (Broadland, in Norfolk) and this is what he replied:

"You want my opinion on you taking more benefit from me towards housing. It won't make the slightest difference. You have decided what you want to do, and we little people, the sick and disabled, will just be cut and cut.

You could make a stand, as other councils have, and say these are not spare bedrooms, etc, but you won't. You have no idea how difficult and stressful it is to live on benefit. Shall I go without food or without heat? Which would you recommend?

I don't do surveys. They ask only what you want to ask and filter out any answers that don't fit your neat little boxes. If I get so broke I can't eat or heat myself, I will either steal from supermarkets, or top myself. Save you a fortune either way
."

I think this is a brilliant response. Can't say clearer than that, if you ask me.

Meanwhile, Rol still doesn't know when he will get the salary payment from UEA (University of East Anglia) that was due to be paid to him last week so he's got another couple of long shifts coming up at Take5 again on Friday and Saturday night this coming weekend.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.