Hazlehead Park and Piper Alpha

I was stuck inside most of the day as I was awaiting a delivery. A little tiresome as we had another glorious day of sunshine. After the delivery I headed to Hazlehead Park on the western outskirts of the city. A lot of people in the park enjoying the weather.

Quite a few people visited the Piper Alpha memorial, and it was surrounded by quite a number of fresh flowers. It is 25 years since the explosion. I don't remember the date especially, but I do remember discussing it later with a friend who worked for Occidental, the operator of the platform. It was nice to see the garden around the memorial is well maintained.I was a bit disappointed by the overall appearance of the surrounding area when I was there last year.

After visiting the memorial I went for a coffee at the cafe in the park. It has recently reopened after being refurbished. I think they will have had a bumper day in view f the weather. I am not sure how it will survive when the weather changes. Perhaps it will close in the winter. They were out of vanilla ice cream unfortunately. The cafe has been tastefully redecorated and there is plenty of inside and outside seating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.