Smelly, but not blushing

I went up to Redmires this afternoon, for the first time since we moved house. It's a great spot for wildlife, although there was not a great deal around today. The lapwing and curlew seem to have departed, and even the meadow pipits were few and far between. I did see one of the water voles which lives up there, and a couple of feral rabbits but didn't have my long lens with me as I was concentrating on fungi today.
This one is Amanita excelsa var. spissa, or Grey Spotted Amanita. It's a close relative of the Fly Agaric, and more significantly The Blusher. I've been mistaking it for The Blusher for years largely because they look very similar and because The Blusher is very common. However, I took a closer look a few weeks ago and found that this species doesn't discolour red, and another clincher is that it smells of radishes. This one had split around the cap, probably because of the dry weather. View large to see its beautiful gills close up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.