The Pevensie Dilemma

By PevensieDilemma

Cause And Effect

My skittle shaped pepper mill stopped working today.

I was in the process of seasoning some pasta but when I turned the pepper mill, nothing happened - just a faint squeak!

I did manage to manually bash those peppercorns into submission though.


So, what's that got to do with cause and effect?

Well, the intent to turn the pepper mill should have resulted in ground pepper for my pasta but instead, there was a slight noise and no pepper!

Our lives might also have cause and effect come into play from time to time.

For instance - our behaviours, words and actions often impact others.

There might be conscious intent - like my pepper mill -

"If I turn this, I'll get ground pepper".

Or, we might see something happening to others because of something we've done or said that we were barely even aware of!


I was quite touched today as a friend shared over lunch how others had benefited from the time I'd spent in their lives.

Humbling, right?

And, a little scary!


Whilst there was some conscious intent, I know for a fact that I wasn't *always* aware of the impact I was having on others.

How often do we really take the time to consider the 'effect we might cause?'

Are the words we choose to speak to others helping or hindering?

Are our actions inspiring?

Is the way we behave towards our friends and our colleagues having any positive, memorable impact?


How fine would you like your pepper?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.