Third of September

Seventy-three years ago.
Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain spoke on the radio to the British people. "I am speaking to you from the cabinet room of 10 Downing St. This morning the British Ambassador in Berlin handed the German Government a final note stating that, unless we heard from them by 11 o'clock that they were prepared at once to withdraw their troops from Poland, a state of war would exist between us. I have to tell you now that no such undertaking has been received, and that consequently this country is at war with Germany."

Twenty-eight years ago.
I was in for the second day of my new job at Scottish & Newcastle Breweries. After the first induction day I and my fellow graduate trainees were beginning several weeks of basic computing training.

Five years ago.
I was at the Scottish National Portrait Gallery in the first week of my Photography HND. The class was visiting the Vanity Fair exhibition for some early inspiration as we started out on our studies. This is my notebook and workbook for the day. I can see a number of things that day that went on to feature in project assignments in the weeks and months to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.