A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Soap Assembly Line

Here at the Big Fat Soap assembly line, you will see just how non-automated we are. We (that would be me) can slap cigar band-type wraps onto 160 bars per minute, I mean, per movie. And in that same time our line (that would be me again) can glue 111 Big Fat Soap labels onto those cigar band wraps. The movie of the evening was Gran Torino with Clint Eastwood. I managed to keep my tears from smearing the labels as I worked. This is because I am a trained and experienced professional label wrapper.

The experienced Big Fat Soap staff (that would be me once again) also managed to bottle a batch of liquid soap and make a new batch with a newly formulated recipe...but did not manage to make dinner. We had food delivered in, thanks to my taxman.

Yesterday, while I was shopping for a few essentials at Kohl's, there was a very rude mother of two small children yelling loudly at said small children for far too long. I found myself barely resisting the urge to 'help her.' You see, big sister was allowed out of the stroller and little brother was very upset by this. He cried and pleaded and begged, using words like, "please" over and over again. He wanted to walk like his sister. "But she gets to walk, I want to walk, please, I want to walk, please, I just want to walk." I nearly cried. I did.

I think there's something wrong with me. I could hardly hold back my tears. My heart broke and that mom is a mean ole mom. She is.

I need to stay away from shopping experiences from now on. I find it much more peaceful to make soap, label soap, bottle soap, and watch sad movies. I love my job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.