Is it a ship, is it a building?

I left Mum and Dad's place at 6.10am to catch a bus to Auckland city. I've had an all day workshop at the Hilton Hotel on Princess Wharf.

I grew up in Auckland but haven't lived (or visited the city proper) in a long time. I felt both like country cousin and fond of the city I have long left. When I was growing up Princess Wharf had sheds on it and a tatty area to receive cruise ships. The sheds are long gone replaced by buildings that echo the lines and fittings of a cruise ship.

They're interesting and make a nautical statement. But they leave me with a sense of warmth or nostalgia. White on blue tells the sterling day it was. Oh, and I think the workshop was worth it.

Tonight is for Mum and Dad. I leave tomorrow and that won't be easy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.