Yamkela iKapa

By lindseydw

Trying to Surf

The second thing one does in Durban is surf or learn to surf (The Surfing Capital of World Behind Hawaii, we are told). So I spent a good part of the second day studying the surfers. I got such a rush just watching them that I thought I wanted to dedicate my life to surfing on the spot. The next day, I borrowed Brew's surf shirt and board, and said I was going to show everyone how it's done.

...

So the undertow on Durban's famous beaches matches the beauty and majesty of its waves so I almost got swept into the rough, mussel-coated pier about 250 meters out to sea. Helplessly paddling my then apparently worthless arms in the opposite direction, I inched closer and closer to doom regardless. A moment away from total panic, a tiny blonde boy who was approximately six years old paddled speedily by me atop his board and commenced to expertly surf around me.

Once I'd soaked this in, I was about 3 meters from the mussley wall and inching closer by the moment. I looked up to find a guy doing surf photography on the pier and muttered a weak cry for help, in response to which he directed me to paddle in a slightly different direction and within miraculous moments I was once again in the clear. Getting back to shore was another adventure altogether, but, hours after my initial frolic into those waves, I eventually washed up to shore on my hands and knees with a raw, red belly and declaring that I needed a bit more practice.

Brew said This is the toughest place to learn, Let alone self-teach oneself to surf on an improperly sized board, but You've completed step one beautifully: Learning to paddle. I was thankful for his encouragement.

Laura, Brew and I then went out on that both life-threatening and -saving pier to do some more surf gazing/studying. Emma agreed to watch all the bags. When we returned a few minutes later, Emma said to me, deadpan,

Hey, I was just texting you. Someone just ran off with your bag.

My phone's in the bag, Emma.

Well, thank the Lord for Travel Insurance, is all I can say. Also the good news is that I packed in preparation for a mugging, so I had no important papers or cards in there and only a day or so's worth of cash. So I filed a police report.

It was some very poor, desperate boys who grabbed my bag, I'm sure. Apparently Durban is famous for those, too. I was trying to imagine them rifling through it and seeing my camera (good find), and R200 (also good find), and then, in a small pocket in front, a single almond cookie wrapped in plastic. I wonder how they split that one!

I hope they enjoyed that cookie. It was a good one.

And honestly, especially armed with good insurance, I'm glad they were well-fed that day and for more to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.