Yamkela iKapa

By lindseydw

Walk, Trot and Canter

From Durban, Laura, Emma and I took a road trip to the Underberg and Lesotho, where we stayed on a horse farm/hostel. I decided to take a 3-hour horseback ride through the local countryside with a Zulu guide named Andreas; Laura and Emma are afraid of horses and none of the others staying at the backpacker's were interested, so it was just Andreas and I. Because I was the only tourist along, Andreas taught me how to trot and canter, though I've only ridden a horse I think once in my life ever, and then at a walk.

So cantering for the first time in my life, and through the African countryside just south of Lesotho, and eventually joined by a huge crowd of Eland if you can believe it (!), was one of the most phenomenal experiences of my life. An out-of-body whole thirty minutes with those Eland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.