The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Bush crickets continued............

Second day back at work, and I am panicking, what can I blip, what can I blip?
Fortunatly for me I remembered where I had seen some Roesel's bush crickets, and and quick trip there with net and pot resulted in this image.
I appologise in advance for the lack of sharpness, but it really was getting late, and this particular cricket was not playing ball and posing nicely for me!
Roesel's bush cricket Metrioptera roeseli is a European bush-cricket, named after August Johann Roselvon Rosenhof a german entomologist.
In recent years it has extended it's range from the South eastern coast where it was traditionally found, it is thought this expansion is probably being helped by rough grassland beside roads providing a 'corridor' for it to travel along.
It is identified by the broad cream-coloured margin all the way round the sides of the pronotum (The plate across the thorax) and the 3 pale yellow spots on the sides of the thorax.
They are between 13 -26mm in length and usually wingless but fully winged individuals can occur during hot summers.
They are really quite common here in the south east where I live, and I see them often.
I hope you will enjoy this continued trip into bush crickets!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.