Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

At Merchants Arch

After a dull start, the day turned into the most perfect day imaginable. To have weather like this at the beginning of September is unbelievable: sunny, barely a cloud in the sky, warm, summery -- a perfect day.

Three of us met for coffee in Terenure at 11:00 (a mostly monthly thing which I missed in August because I forgot about it). It was great to be able to sit outside with jackets off enjoying our coffee and our scones. A haircut followed and then I got a bus in to town with time to spare before meeting the film crew for a reality TV show I've been roped into.

I grabbed a large bottle of Bulmers (what else?) in the Merchants Arch pub and took my bottle out into the laneway people come through to after crossing the Halfpenny Bridge and continuing straight on under Merchants Arch. I'd done some tweaking with some of the settings on the X100 last night, and spent an hour and a half enjoying the new camera for the first time. I shot off close on a hundred images, and this was by far the best of the day.

Filming went on from 3:30 until 7:00, then there was a bit of a get-together in a new-to-me bar beside the Clarence Hotel (The Liquor Rooms, on Wellington Quay). A great spot, with terrific staff and a really good atmosphere. The bus took me home afterwards and I was back at my own door by 9:30 after a tiring but hugely satisfying day.

Bigger blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.