catrionalenka

By catrionalenka

International Life

Yesterday I met up with Mi Joo my buddy and we went for some lunch and then walked around Gyeongsang (I am stood in front of this town), the town near our campus, we called the immigration office and found out all the documents I will need to complete for my visa.
Later on I and some of the other international students went for dinner and this is where we probably felt our most foreign in the place, we struggled to order food and really were not sure on what we were ordering, something eventually arrived and so did the beers which definitely eased some of the stress a few of us were having trying to order food for 13 people.
I am constantly surrounded by people from all around the world and in these situations its so easy to try and define people by which country they come from.
Although I am extremely proud to come from Britain and the Czech Republic, I have never felt that either country defines who I am and how I behave, none the less I understand its because people only want to understand the differences in our behaviours and putting it down to culture. But from all the stereotypes I have heard about all the different countries from around the world, judging by the people I have met, I can say many of us are certainly breaking the stereotypes.
Two stereotypes I will always stay true to is that the British in me needs a good cup of tea to kick off the day and the Czech in me needs a decent pint!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.