catrionalenka

By catrionalenka

Food

So this is when I first started getting everything organised, first I had to partake in a medical examination which required me to get undress and put on a robe and take a full body X-ray, which was quick enough but pretty awkward and in a very open space for everyone to see...privacy does not seem to be their strongest point for such a conservative country in so many respects, i.e males are not allowed to enter females corridors or use the same gyms etc..luckily I had help from Mi Joo who then took me down to downtown Daegu where we got to explore the city and walk around for a while. We then went to a traditional Korean restaurant where we order many dishes, they were full of flavour and some of them extremely spicy, even for me, and I do love a spicy meal! There was a range of meals and all very filling, afterwards we then tasted cinnamon with water which wasn't much to my taste but certainly interesting. After the meal I used the subway for the first time and got back to Yeungnam university, their metro/underground/subway system seems like a small city with plenty of shops and bars, much like London's Victoria Station but underground. I was surprised how clean it was compare to the subway systems I have used around Europe. It was a long day but a fun one where I got the chance to explore and learn a lot of new things about Korean culture....it is shaping out to be a very interesting experience so far....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.