catrionalenka

By catrionalenka

Settling in

My first full day here was very busy, I tried breakfast at the canteen for the first time which was a very interesting experience. They serve Kimchee (spicy cabbage) for breakfast, luckily they had cereal and milk. I was introduced to a few more girls who live in our halls, 2 of them are French and 1 is Mexican, it really is a very international place and at this rate I will have friends from every country I could possibly think of. After breakfast we had a full day of 'orientation' where we got told several things that we would have to do such as go for a medical health check (more on that later) and register for an 'Alien Card'. We then had a tour around campus which is surrounded by lots of greenery.Finally in the afternoon we were then introduced to our buddies who are our personal guides in how to settle in and helping us get around. Mi Joo, my buddy is lovely and so helpful.
Later on I and a few of the others (including a group from Mexico and a guy from Afghanistan) headed over to the city like area on our campus which was heaving with people, we found a cool restaurant and ate delicious, authentic Korean food, luckily Alicia my Canadian flatmate can speak Korean and has knowledge of the food and mannerism. We also tried Soju (rice based liquor) to kick off the semester.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.