Ali .....

..... keeping an eye on his friends stall.

I've had a day off today and a much needed lie in this morning. At lunchtime I had a trip in to Leeds and met up with SnapshotSam to have a look around a new exhibition of commercial photography at the Leeds Gallery ( details here ). It was a good exhibition, but the more photography exhibitions I see, the more I realise just how good so many blippers are. The gallery is joined on to a lovely arty café so Sam and myself had a very nice lunch of roasted halloumi and salad sarnies ( with loads of pesto ) and then a look around their bookshop.

After saying goodbye to Sam ( she had to go back to work ) I had a wander around the market. I dropped off a couple of Prints to Paul who I blipped last Thursday and he was chuffed with them. I carried on walking around the market chatting to familiar faces and taking portrait photos ( including this one of Ali who was sat watching his friends stall ).

I don't know what I'm going to do with all the portraits that I keep taking, but I'm enjoying taking them and getting to know a bit about the people I photograph. Today I was chatting to Reverend Nathan who I'd photographed a month or two back ( he was wearing his dog collar today ) and he pulled a photo out of his pocket of his two cats and started telling me all about them, it's encounters like that where people share little bits of their life that are important to them that make taking the photos meaningful.

I've put a few more photos from today in to a set here. I haven't blipped a full portrait in a while, so today's blip is .....


..... Ali keeping an eye on his friends stall.


More Leeds market here.


Post script :

This day last year I was being thrashed in a very tough race by Earthdreamer >>>>>>>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.