Daily Wild

By emyjane

Obligatory hog blip

Best viewed *larger*

Every year around this time it's customary for me to photograph & usually blip a hedgehog & it's usually because of the same reason - I was in the garage feeding the blackbirds when I heard sneezing coming from below somewhere, I thought it was a blackbird (they do sneeze). Then it happened again, so I followed the sound & found this guy in a small plastic bag rolled up sound asleep under some shelves! The plastic bag didn't seem to bother him & I have no idea where that bag came from as we never leave bags in the garage just in case someone gets caught up on one... could he have found it himself & brought it in as a nest? Anyhow, got him out & put him by my studio under a bush. I sat there quietly to make sure he was ok, he uncurled, sniffed the air, had a little scratch & then went for a wander & I knelt down & took this shot. When I came back later he had gone - well, I say he, could be a she too! Adorable creatures & we have so many in the garden now, they're doing really well (we feed them 2 huge bowls of food each night & fresh water) so they have no reason not to do well! :)

And...

Looking ahead

Tomorrow I have an exhibition in a large house called 'Kelly House' near Tavistock, myself & 6 other artists. Set up tomorrow, private view in the evening & then on both days of the weekend. Been preparing for it all day long, haven't had a moment again! The blackbirds in the garage & the hedgehog were my only photographs today, luckily I got those at all! I'll try my best to blip tomorrow but it's going to be tight, we'll see what comes of it! :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.