chiffchaff

By Chiffchaff

Chine

Today was as hot as yesterday, if not more so! No breeze at all, and oven baked temperatures.
For me, it's bliss. I can walk faster with way more stamina than I can in the cold. I've not yet had a heat that I can't walk around easily in...but as soon as the temperature drops, I stiffen up!

Shanklin Chine and The Rosemary Vineyard were on our agenda today.

First off we headed down to Old Shanklin to admire the thatch, then down to wow at the Chine. I've never seen anything like it! It felt just like Jurassic Park!

We stopped off at the base which brought you out on the sand just a metre from the sea front, surrounded by the cliffs and calm sea. Here we had an incredible treat of lunch at The Fishermans Cottage, a gem of a foodie pub serving the most divine eats yet.

After scrambling our way back up to the top of the Chine, we headed off to the Island's vineyard and orchard for the inlaws and Lloyd to sample the wines, and myself to stock up on fresh pressed apple juice. I chose Russet this time under the recommendation of Mrs ~files, as last time I had the Discovery variety. Needless to say I now have a new favourite.

Then back home for a light supper.

Rain forecast tomorrow, and really I guess we all do need a little bit of a localised chill out day. We will see what happens. Our final full day together.

Let's not think about that yet though :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.