JUVENILE GREEN HERON

There’s a wealth of wildlife on a lake in the woods in northern Michigan. On our boat ride today, I had so many blip opportunities – I could hardly decide what to post. I’d never seen a Green Heron before we came across this family. This shot is a juvenile because of his streaky brown markings. The adult Green Heron has a green-black crown with chestnut face & neck and the wings are blue-gray mixed with iridescent green – quite pretty actually. (The adult is on Flickr.)

The scenery is so beautiful here, and with ideal weather we’re enjoying, today was an absolutely perfect day. I say the boat ride around this little lake is the most peaceful thing I do. We go in a regular row boat with a ‘no wake’ motor so it’s very quiet. You can’t help but feel all is right with the world. (I wish!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.