Transport

I remember arriving in Poland by train for the first time. Looking through the train window I saw horses pulling carts, not for show, but for real. There were of course tractors, but I clearly remember seeing the horses and the long fields of late summer. Away from the asphalt roads there is a complicated network of tracks, some official, some just traditional, joining farmhouses to fields and other farms and it is the time of year for moving things around. The cart is the same as for horses, just with an ancient Ursus instead. This type of cart is particularly well suited to carting timber around. Here I think he's moving barrels which won't roll around too much in the narrow V construction. People still like these tractors because they can fix them themselves and the parts are cheap and easy to get.

Early this morning I heard an unusual sound of activity, and looking from my perch, I could see a pair of what were possibly fieldfares chasing each other around the tree tops. I'll look out for them again tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.