The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Noonday fly

It rained today!! I somehow feel I should be sad as it seems to herald the end of the amazing summer, but I don't as everything is so parched and dry I could almost feel the landscape drinking the welcome moisture up like a giant piece of blotting paper!
By late afternoon the rain had eased off, and the sun was out again albeit weakly, so I took the opportunity to visit Marlpost woods. Sadly the rides have been mown, and there was little to see but the large woodpile (from tree cutting) was a magnet to various flies, warming in the sun.
This is Mesembrina meridiana the Noonday fly, It is a member of the Muscidae family and is widespread throught Britain.
As flies go I think the bright orange wing bases, face and feet make it quite smart, I hope you agree.
Have a great weekend, happy blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.