Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

The changing of the strings & another year older

This used to be one of my favorite rituals -- changing my guitar strings before a gig. Since I've been in training to be a voice teacher and singing mostly classical this last year, I haven't had much occasion to play my guitar. But now that it's all but over (!) the old Lyle gets dusted off and tuned up and lovingly strummed and plucked once again. We're headed to a weekend music camp this afternoon, and I plan to play and sing a lot!

I used to play her for hours a day and, as I played, songs would come to me. It's been years since I've written anything. But I'm inspired now that one of my songs has been chosen to be part of our choir concerts in December.

Today is my 63rd birthday. It's hard for me to believe I've been on the planet this long. I love that there are always surprises!

I'll be back-blipping the weekend, as there's no internet access at camp. Have a lovely photo-filled weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.