A time for everything

By turnx3

Family

Monday
Today we drove across the Pennines to visit my brother and sister-in-law in Dore, on the outskirts of Sheffield. My sister also drove up from the Gloucester area for the day, so we had all three siblings together, which hasn't happened too much in recent years. Although we've been across to England from the States every year, we usually end up visiting them separately for one reason or another. We arrived in time for coffee, just about 15 minutes after my sister, who'd left home at 7.15! After some time catching up, Judy fixed us a lovely salad lunch, then we went walking along the River Derwent from Hathersage in the afternoon, which was where this photo was taken. In the picture from L to R, its my brother Peter, sister-in-law Judy, sister Janet and myself, not forgetting Janet's dog Wispa, a Belgian shepherd. Roger took the photo and I wasn't too thrilled with it - I had wanted more of the attractive countryside to the left, and less of the hedge to the right - I've already cropped some of the hedge! However, we kept it as at least everyone was looking at the camera - including the dog. We had others with either Wispa looking at Janet, or Janet looking at Wispa, trying to get her to look at the camera! I keep trying to teach Roger, but he's a slow learner! Back home for tea, more chatting, then out for dinner at a local restaurant in the evening. A good day - looking forward to seeing more of them over the next couple of years while we're living in France.

One year ago: Signs of Fall

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.