SomethingAwful

By SomethingAwful

Still working on it...

Is it because I'm short? I know that my angle and framing are off whenever I try street photography, I just have no idea how to actually get it right! Well, in this case I was too far away and relying too much on an interesting subject... I think.

And there are cars in the way. There are always cars in the way...
Maybe I am too short. Or just an idiot.

Anyway, we walked around the Newbury area again today, had lunch at THE CHEESECAKE FACTORY, and Adam (like every gay best friend labouringly does) accompanied me on a little shop - I visited Forever 21 for the first time and have been converted.

Then we went down to a dock overlooking the river, sat watching the calming water and some boaters (practicing something by the looks of it), and the Boston skyline, obviously, and then Adam walked me to the bus station (wouldn't have found it without him!) to catch my bus to none other than NYC!

Proceed a fairly smooth four-hour drive (inc stop off) and I found myself in the middle of Chinatown, with Hayim's instructions and absolutely no knowledge of what to expect of Manhattan before midnight. Turns out it was, as Hayim and Jaime promised, much less scary than I thought it would be. Quiet, yes, but still busy enough to feel relatively safe. Found the subway and proceeded to piss off the woman at the information point by asking a stupid question as I misread a sign, and was introduced to my first dose of New York sensibility as she wandered off from me muttering something about 'It's not so hard...'.

Half an hour later Hayim met me in Brooklyn and took me to his new place! Very nice. Very nice futon. No need for AC, which is good, because my throat has been starting to hurt from the fan in our room in Boston, which keeps the humidity from sweating us out in the night...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.