A Slice of Valley Life

Today's been a great day. Warm, sunny, your typical Canterbury Spring day. One out of the box.

It's also been a busy one for me; today I've probably been the busiest I've been in 4 months. Recovery from surgery at last? Maybe. Well, I'm getting there, let's say.

After waking early I did a quick run to the transfer station for the domestic garbage (not done on my own since mid-April). I then ran into Tai Tapu in the truck to pick up a hire ride-on mower, seeing as ours is a bit poorly,. This of course meant there was grass to be cut, something I managed for the first time since late April.

But the firsts did not end there. With my neighbours away for the night we volunteered to look after their two working dogs' meals and exercise whilst their 'pack leader' was absent. So I then managed to walk up the hill (for about 100 or so vertical metres) opposite for the first time since the beginning of April (at least). OK, so coming back down the hill was near-agony, but I'll take the victory of being able to make it one way....

So all in all it's been a busy day. Much like my other neighbour's day, who's seen here moving his sheep up the valley into his yards for crutching. If you go large, you might even see a cute little lamb, straggling along behind it's mother. Awww.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.