Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Narthenwoartdoin

Another one to tick off my bucket list tonight as I visited the DW Stadium in Wigan to watch Wigan Warriors v Leeds Rhinos in the Superleague. I’ve always been a big rugby league fan, and this wasn’t my first match that I’ve seen live, but it was the first in the actual heartlands of rugby league. Wigan has always been my team, and the Hull cup final in 1985 was one of my first memories of the game.

Even though the final result didn’t go Wigan’s way tonight, the evening was just brilliant! The game was very good, the atmosphere around the ground and in the stands was great, and I got a great welcome from the people there when I needed help and when I was sat in the stand, we had a really good craic. I felt at home!

Why does football have to be so different? Before this game Wigan and Leeds fans were mixing well and having a good laugh together, contrast that with Sunday where you could sense the sheer hatred between the fans. Give me rugby any day of the week.

In other news it was a good day at work, there’s so much going on but at least it’s all good!

BTW has anyone got the title yet? If you haven’t already worked it out its in Wiganese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.