Reading time.

School and work has been going well. Dance classes are in full spin. We are trying to settle into our new routine. I look forward to next week when it really is a normal week. There is something to love about predictable schedules.

Sugar Bear started reading when she was four years old. She loved it.....for about 2 months. They she declared that she was done reading....FOREVER. I didn't believe her....but man oh man it has been a struggle for the past 4 years. I provide every opportunity for her to love and enjoy the process of reading, but my girl just can't stand it. She moans....and she groans...and gets so frustrated.

Thus....I mean and I groan....and I get way way way too frustrated. I turn into a bit of a jerk when it is time to get my girl reading. I'm at such a loss. At this point I don't know if she has an issue that is making it hard, so she doesn't want to do it.....or if she just doesn't enjoy it. I have tested her. Vocabulary and sight word wise she is at grade level. She has a firm understanding of phonetics, but she HATES sounding out words. She memorizes words instead. ack......I am so so so....not sure where to go with her in this reading thing. I'm just venting here.

This shot is of my girl reading before bed. You might see from her posturing how she feels about it. It is such a hard part of our evening. I wish it wasn't this hard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.