Photogen

By Photogen

'Coral' Plant and Garden Mosaic

One of my birthday gifts was eventually fixed in position today. It is a garden mosaic by a talented West of Scotland mother and daughter team. They go under the name of Xenara Crafts. They use cement mortar to grout the mosaics and add colouring and additives so they are frost resistant and waterproof. They also use reclaimed slates, some of which have flown off their own roofs in the winter gales!

The plant I have been told is a 'Coral' plant, with a flower cluster that looks like a piece of coral. Coral is, of course, a sea animal that looks like a plant. So this is a kind of 'double-take'! I cannot locate a picture of a similar plant. So if anyone can throw some light on the origin of this cultivar I'd be grateful.

I thought these two creations - the craftwork and the horticultural creation looked well together and they also were gifts from the same person. Lovely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.