... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Goosle Fledgling: Pilates and Parental Bokeh

More perfectly poised in large ("L").

I found the Goosles on Eagle Pond this afternoon which was a surprise: I thought that they'd be over on Long Pond which seems to have become their more regular haunt recently. They were on the island, but I got some fun pictures of the fledgling flapping around (it is still doing flappy dance (described here) when the wind catches its wings mid-stretch). The funniest moment was when a juvenile cormorant sprung out of the water onto the island near the fledgling (to dry off...) and gave the little one such a fright that it leapt about a metre into the air and scarpered. It then slowly crept back up and then did its open-beaked stompy-charge towards the cormorant ("You're a funny-looking pigeon, but I'll still take you on..."), before chickening out again when the cormorant turned to face it (with its wings open to dry). Silly little thing...

While they were on the island I also managed to catch a migrant hawker in flight which was satisfying, and I've also uploaded a picture of a heterochromic husky which belongs to one of the fishermen (boo). I find huskies beautiful but rather intimidating; they can be aggressive dogs, and as arch pack-animals they can have a rather competitive temperament which can lead to power-plays if there isn't a clearly dominant "top dog" in the house (i.e. an authoritative owner who has trained it well). I find it scary when I see them pulling their owners (the dog is in charge), and their prey drive makes their interest in other dogs seem a little more predatory than other breeds that I regularly see.
Anyway, I asked the fisherman if I could photograph his dog, and his response was a shrug... I took two pictures and then ("made like a fledgling and...") chickened out. Its eyes are amazing.

There was also a juvenile coot which was trying to fly: it was running across the water and then bouncing up into the air and sort of flap-gliding but not maintaining level flight. It was fun to watch and I got some good pictures in spite of the fading light (the rain cloud had reappeared), and I left just in time to get to a cafe before the drizzle turned into a downpour. Phew!

p.s. No change on the Mr. front. He's the one snoozing in the middle of my image...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.