Water Rail

I was so pleased to get this shot, which is a little noisy due to the bad light as we have plunged into the dark ages for two day - normal service will be resumed tomorrow.

Yes, as I was saying, I was so pleased to get a shot of the water rail as I have never seen one before and was convinced that it was a very rare bird.

See it bigger here

Apparently Wiki says it isn't, and also says the below as well, but they are so discreet and shy that they are seldom seen.

Water Rail (Rallus aquaticus) is a bird of the rail family which breeds in well-vegetated wetlands across Europe, Asia and North Africa. Northern and eastern populations are migratory, but this species is a permanent resident in the warmer parts of its breeding range.
The adult is 23–28 cm (9–11 in) long, and, like other rails, has a body that is flattened laterally to allow it easier passage through the reed beds it inhabits.

By the way, this bird is called a Râle d'eau in French and se râler means to complain or grumble ... just thought I'd add that ...

It was a strange day, in terms of wildlife, it seemed like it had all hidden away somewhere - which was probably not a bad plan, as La Chasse (hunting season) has opened today.

I'm crossing my fingers that the young stag and the doe featured in my 300th blip get through to next April ...

I have made a fruit trifle today to feed to the natives - all of whom were very wary of British cooking ... what?

Instead of the usual sherry, I made a syrup with Pineau des Charentes to poach the fruit ... it looks good, I've just got to do the topping (syllabub) after I finish writing this blip - I also made the custard. If ever I open a restaurant and recruit a chef, they will have to pass two tests - making the perfect omelette and custard - if they can do those they will get the job ... not many will be able to though ;)

I have also made Tielle Sétoise with young salad leaves from the garden, which always goes down well here ...

Hope you are having a lovely Sunday and that you are raring to go for Monday morning :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.