Gotcha!

Got the fish that is ...

See the kingfisher in full detail

It has been beautiful sunny weather - apart from a couple of stormy days in The Pays Basque - for the last 3 months ... until I decide to spend a day of wildlife photography in a new place (to me), where it poured down all day.

But hey, it was only rain ... a great day, saw lots of animals, including red deer, coypu, water voles, water rails, kingfishers, snipe and lots more Here are some photos of Le Domaine des Oiseaux.

I was particularly pleased with the hovering kingfisher shot and will be back next week when the sun is shining to get a less noisy shot.

So, none of the objectives today were reached ... but it was great fun.

For those who voiced concern about the prospect of me becoming (allegedly) a twitcher, I can assure you that this is not the case...

I met two twitchers on two occasions today - it appears that they speak to themselves ... then they cock their heads (optionally to the left or to the right), hold a finger in the air with widening mouth and eyes and utter something unintelligible, shuffle about a bit then grab for their binoculars or their telescope mugumbi and scan the horizon from left to right before re-enacting the above ritual again.

I do none of this ... apart from the speaking to myself sometimes ...

Hope you are having a lovely Saturday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.