Combi31

By Combi31

Combi Split 1964

Beautiful weather for a combi meet in Toulouse - as always our autumns are much better than the summer.

Had two problems today with the combi, first the ignition switch looks like it is finished and a nice Moroccan guy scrambled under the combi to short out the starter motor - thank you sir, you are a gent!

Then as I was climbing the huge hill home the throttle cable broke *face palm*

Luckily I carry lots of odds-and-sods and was able to do a temporary repair with some electrical cable to get home.
Funny the cable broke as it was an extra heavy duty one that I fitted two years ago which is meant to be used on a lorry - but there you go.

Had fun reversing back down a narrow, humungous hill to get to a place where I could repair it - with no power of course ...

Ho hum, the joys of owning a combi, so now I've got to fit a new ignition switch, which, the last time I did one, took two days to get out, and a new throttle cable...

Still, had a good day, and will be featured on a blog post with a guy, who is a photographer in Toulouse, whom I have been talking to for about three years on Twitter - yes, I finally met him today - excellent!

Had breakfast with friends at the combi meet, which was nice, although next time I maybe won't wait to be the last to leave ... just in case ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.