A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Sided and Resided

Even the newest layer of siding is falling off of this mid-1800s barn, but there is hope for this one. My taxman and I took a brief course today called Barns 101. It taught us about American barns: the history, architecture, and evolution. Did you know there are bank barns, crib barns, prairie barns, round barns and various combinations of these?

This short course and tour of the Garfield Farm Museum has sparked a strong interest for me and my taxman. We've always loved farms and barns, but now we want to continue following this passion. It might be time for me to start that blip series of historic barns. I've included a few periodically and one drive by blip that I posted awhile back, is now gone. I had no idea that it was about to be removed. I'm glad I blipped it.

I also fell in love with the Black Java Chickens on the farm.

Today I am grateful for the blessings of farm life, even if I can only get them in small doses occasionally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.