The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Speckled wood

Mr U&L and I went out to visit the Bluebell railway today.
The Bluebell is a local preserved railway running from East grinstead, meandering through the Sussex countryside to Sheffield park. We decided not to ride on the train, but instead visit one of the stations along the way.
Horsted keynes station is about 4.5 miles from Sheffield park, and near the village of Ardingly (probably most famous for hosting the South of England show). We had a nice lunch of pasty and chips from the station buffet, then set out to take some pics. Mr U&L likes the trains, but I prefer other things, and I took a lot of shots of the lines of the station and the ornate ironwork. I had intended to blip one of these shots for you, but my lumix G10 really struggles with exposure and all the shots were over exposed, sometimes right in the middle! (I will place these in my Blipfolio so you can judge for yourself, and maybe advise me how to stop this happening).
In the end I settled for this shot of a Speckled wood Pararge aegeria, a common butterfly which was sunning itself on some brambles near the side of the track. I know the wings are out of focus, but I liked the way they were out of focus and the butterfly's head and antennae are in focus, drawing the eye in.....I felt it added something to what might otherwise be a boring shot.
My thought for the day being ....look for a new angle in everything you see, and don't be afraid to share it!
Back to work tomorrow!........off to bed now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.