Bush crickets continued............

A few weeks ago I found one of these Southern oak bush crickets Meconema meridionale just sitting on my car. At the time, even though it looked like a Southern Oak bush cricket, I wasn't sure as they are very similar to the flightless late instar nymphs of the Oak bush cricket (see my blip August 30th 2013)
In light of this I managed to get it formally identified by the Grasshopper / Cricket recorder for West Sussex, who said to keep a look out, as they may well be breeding in my garden! To be honest I didn't hold out much hope as it was sitting on my car when I found it and could have come from any one of the places I had been visiting.
Well, on Saturday I found another one (another male) sitting on Mr U&L's back after he had been gardening , proof I think they ARE breeding in my garden! I am well pleased!
It was first recorded in the UK in 2001 having extended it's range northward through Europe from Italy in the last 40 years. Since 2001. Because all stages of it's life cycle are wingless and it is often found sitting on cars it is assumed that it has hitched a lift to many new locations including the UK through the channel tunnel.
They are pale (almost luminous) yellow /green with a yellow dorsal stripe, and a pair of brown marks on the pronotum, males are 11 -13mm in length with long cerci, the females are slightly larger.
Even though they are tiny they are carnivorous, eating other insects and the first one I found gave me a 'nip' despite his small size!
I think he is rather lovely......I am off to find a female now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.