Green moths continued.......

A bit of a busy day , so I haven't had much chance to go out blip hunting today.
I caught this moth in my trap last night, along with several others the same, and a good handful of Large Yellow underwings. It was a reduced catch though as moths catchers among us will know, cool moonlit nights are definitely not the best! bring on the warmer cloudy nights I say!
This lovely moth is a Light Emerald Campaea margaritata, which is a wonderful pale minty green colour with tiny blood-red tips to the forewings.
It is quite common in the UK, flying from June to August with a partial second generation in the south in September.
The larvae feed on a number of deciduous trees.
It's cold and moonlit again tonight, so I think a bit of Blip hunting after work may well be in order!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.