Soooo happy!

For ages now I have been longing to see one of these wonderful caterpillars, I kept seeing pictures of them that others had found, but never managing to find one myself.
Then today......I got a message from my daughter saying she had found this beauty walking on the pavement, and what was it? Needless to say I asked her to pot it and keep it for me! Luckily she brought it into work so Historian31 could enjoy it too. 
It is the very colourful caterpillar is the larva of the Sycamore moth Acronicta aceris, (see my blip for 15.6.15), a mainly southern species that come regularly to my moth trap. It feeds on sycamore as the name suggests, field maple and horse chestnut.
Now for the Convolvulus Hawk moth I am also longing to see.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.