Regeneration

I've known this old mansion for many years now and blipped the sad story of its latter-day occupants and their tragic son.
The 200 year old fabric of the original building has been falling into severe decay with a ruptured roof allowing rain to erode the core of the house. Each of the three times I have crept inside further signs of dereliction have been evident and the whole structure appeared to be on the path to ruin.

So I was amazed to find that since my last visit in the spring the place has been transformed with a spanking new roof and chimneys, and the exterior walls rendered ready for fresh plaster. The companionable privy, situated on the far left of this shot, remains unimproved but I'm hoping it will not be destroyed. (I even bought a book The Privies of Wales to show the owner that such (in)conveniences are worth preserving.)

I don't know where the funds are coming from for this reconstruction but I believe that the intention is to turn the house into holiday accommodation, and unfortunately not a charming little country hotel with excellent local food and teas on the lawn. That's a pity, but at least the resurrection of this old place is good to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.