GOVERNMENT OFFICES

This seven story 'bridge' connects two twelve story buildings that contain the offices of the Michigan Legislature’s House of Representatives. It was finishd in 1999, and the information about this building says the style is ‘Postmodern’.* I’d have said it’s characteristics are somewhat ‘Art Deco’ until I saw my pictures today – now all I see are white collars with ties! Each stained glass window in this ‘bridge’ is two stories tall. (This was taken on a Sunday afternoon when the state capitol area was quiet.)

I thought this building would make an interesting blip, but we have nothing that would hold a candle to the beautiful old buildings of Europe. Those of you who have those structures readily available are so fortunate!

* I just have to include this convoluted definition of ‘Postmodern’ – a general term which is applied to art, architecture, literature, etc. “It is largely a reaction to the assumed certainty of scientific, or objective, efforts to explain reality... a characteristic of the so-called modern mind.” How in the world does that explain an architectural style? I’ll stick with ‘modern’ or ‘art deco’!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.