TINY MAYFLY

The beauty of this tiny mayfly was in the iridescent wings. I’m so glad the light was right to show how colorful they were. I say ‘tiny’ because it was less than an inch in length (approx. 2 cm) – including the wings, but it’s a real eye catcher. It is in the same insect group as dragonflies and damselflies, but the adult lifespan of a mayfly is anywhere from a few hours to two days at most. In the immature stage they have functioning mouthparts; however, the adult (with wings) doesn’t feed so has non-functioning mouthparts. (Guess that’s one reason they don’t live very long!) Mayflies are the only group of insects that molt after they have wings. I learned all this today – another Blip benefit.

The picture makes more sense right-side up, but the mayfly was hanging from a forsythia leaf when I spotted it this morning – and landed that way every time it moved - so upside down is its natural position. I’ll eventually learn how to correct the gIare on the body & leaf - lots yet to learn about Lightroom!

Wouldn’t you know, I had this blip ready to post when the cardinal couple decided to come to the feeder. (See them on Flickr.) There haven’t been any birds there today, until now. It’s a difficult choice since the bird picture is better, but I’m sure to have many bird blips coming up, so I’ll go with the mayfly today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.