Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Rosella Behind

Home today. I was feeling mostly better from the gastro last night, but for some reason just could not sleep until hell-knows-what time in the morning, so I was really not up to pretending to function; I may not like sleep, but it's a fairly necessary part of recovery. So. A quiet day. Pulled out a few weeds, sorted a few photos, and photographed a couple of birds: this partially-hidden rosella - partially-seen larger here, (as well as being square for September again) and this noisy friarbird - which indeed was very noisy. Quite a nice noisy, but certainly very vocal.

There was absolutely masses of Dreaded Purple Fringe on the friarbird pic. I desaturated a lot, and masked that to the colour purple, which ended up getting too much of the photo, so I erased it from most of the picture, painting it back on in bits where needed. It kind of worked, I think.

Gotta make some photo books. I've been looking at the one I made after I hit 500 blips, and it's really nice; in print there's just something that looking on-screen doesn't provide. Of course, to avoid making absolutely mahoosive books, I'm going to have to split up each year: our NZ visits provide enough good photos for a book of their own. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.