Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Leonard Cohen

Marmite. You either love it or you hate it; there's no middle ground. It's the same with Leonard Cohen; one of my friends commented "wrist slashing music" when he found out who I was seeing, but I'm firmly in the 'love it' camp for both Marmite and Len. And what a show he put on! He's nearly 80, but at times skipped around the stage more easily than I probably could, and with an interval, performed for three and a half hours. He clearly enjoyed it too; no suggestion he was just doing it for the money - an excellent show. I was impressed by the LG Arena at Birmingham too - there was a very good three piece folk/rock/blues band who entertained on a small stage in the food and drink area beforehand which made a welcome change from the usual thing at these big venues of milling around a few seedy hot dog stalls waiting for the show to start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.