The Scottish Play

Despite having a week to do it I only got round to reloading the car with the survey kit today. There were one or two wee emails to attend to but really not much productive work to put on the time sheet.

Caley got a little stretch ofthe legs first thing at Achaderry but this is way short of his daily expectations. This evening I threw him in the car and took the short drive up the A86 to Laggan Reservoir. This isn't Loch Laggan but the body of water innediately up stream of the dam. It is about 6.5km from the dam to Loch Laggan proper and we stopped roughly mid way. This is an attractive dog walk. This stretch of river bank, and that is how you perceive the resrvoir just now, is screened from the A86 by a stand of woodland so you feel like you are well away from everything. It is generally a vast flat flood plain with the river meandering slowly towards the dam. The water is sufficiently low for the flow to break in to rapids where there is bouldery steps in the bed level. Perhaps the only draw back to this walk is that the lay by I chose to start from does not give easy access. The bank is steep with outcrops and tussocks and I'm sure it could be accessed with more ease from a lay by further east.

Mrs Cakes is just home last night and I'm off to Uig in Skye tomorrow for at least two days. The girls -M and her friends J and C- all looked very chilled out, happy, relaxed with that healthy look you get from sensible exposure to the sun. I'm pleased they had a really good wee break.

What's with the title?

"Out damn spot; out I say"

My other SLR which I really like and use a lot has speck of dust on the sensor. No matter how many time I quote the good lady and push the sensor clean button the speck remains stubbornly in place. I wonder if it was a Nikon or a Canon that caused Lady Macbeth such grief? Anyway in the end she probably went to Amazon like me, for a pack of 12 type 3 swabs and some sensor fluid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.