my name is not Liz Imbrie

By LizImbrie

I love Lamp

This fine "lamp" has a history.
In the wider sense of the word, it's history is of being a projector light housed at the old Odeon cinema on Lothian road. It was probably made around the 30's and light was made by burning carbon rods rather than using bulbs.

When the cinema closed for it's refurb' in 2000, the lamp casing (all 6,8" of it) appeared in the window of the junk shop across the road form my flat. I was immediately taken with it and blew any chance of haggling on the price by being a bit over the top about how much I wanted it! So, I parted with my £85 safe in the knowledge that it fitted right in with my trendy art student persona.

I didn't take into account though that, being an art student would lead onto being an art graduate and therefore skint and incapable of living somewhere big enough to house such a monster. So, for the last ten years, the lamp has taken up a room at my dad's house in Glasgow.
In the last couple years, we have tried giving it away but no-one would have it.

Then, out of the blue, I managed to strike the deal of the century when I swapped it for an Edwardian table from Courtyard antiques priced at £270!

So here it is once again, in the shop now with a bulb inside and a £295 price tag.

Waiting for someone with a house big enough to do it justice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.