hpx

By hpx

Surprise sunset

I reckon it's something special to witness sunrise and sunset on the same day.

When I arrived at work this morning, the sky out my office window was purple. I went over to the other side and it was every shade of orange and apricot. Back at my office and the sky was pink, silver and soft gold.

Work went well again. One thing about turning up really early is you get a lot done.

I headed off to my appointment this afternoon. I saw a different 'flavour' of surgeon. Such is the unpredictability of life. I get to experience another form of imaging in a couple of weeks and we'll take it from there. Fix one thing and something else says "hey, you moved!" (or something like that). But that's enough of that.

I headed up onto the Port Hills late today. Each step upwards felt like relief and a weight lifting. I regained perspective and appreciation for what I can do and the day I've had. I ended up on the ridge with the 'lone tree' I blipped on Sunday. Above the buzz and hum of the city I listened to sheep and lambs, wandered amongst the rocks and tussocks, watched the light changing and played around with the lensbaby.

As I came back down I thought to myself "it's been a constrained and delicate sunset". The sky appeared to be gently fading out. Suddenly it was like a switch was flicked. The sky looked just as it is here and I couldn't resist risking sheep poop all over me to grovel around to get this. (Fortunately I don't have a cleaning job to attend to :-)

Stunning sunrise and sunset? Can't ask for more than that.

One day at a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.