Shaking the Sugar Sachet...

Early morning tea at my favourite little cafe (& not a big chain) and this lady is looking through the window down at passers-by, whilst shaking a little sachet of sugar.

Been wanting to do a candid portrait for ages - she had no idea what I was up to (I don't think her eyesight was her strong-point) though my comfy lounge chair is much lower than hers and unfortunately, I had the back of dark wooden chair in the bottom of all my few shots, creating a rather dark bar at the bottom. Staff were busy preparing for the day rather than spotting their errant customers pointing lenses at each other...

Purposefully went out with just the very old and manual everything Nikkor 135mm f2, which on the DX body gives an equivalent 202mm f2, which is fast indeed. However, in my fumbling here, the aperture ring, which is well worn and quite loose, was nudged down to f2.8 by mistake without me noticing - I wanted max aperture for minimal depth of field. However, on LARGE you can see that her hands are definitely softer than her face, so the DOF here is nicely limited.

A bit of sharpening and crop top and bottom and mono conversion and an image I quite like. Could be better but a good start, for me and this type of photography.

Many thanks to all for nudging my strange spider and no-entry sign in the dark blip of yesterday up into the Spotlight - it is very much appreciated!

-- Those who liked my band blip of two days ago of the Zucchinis may like to see the full edited album of the other worthwhile shots.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.