Kangaroo

By Kangaroo

Gugubarra

We call them commonly Kookaburra or Laughing Kookaburra.

Coming home one year to Australia and walking down a street in Brisbane that afternoon the sound of the call of the Kookaburra ringing through the suburb with its explosive and infectious 'laugh' remains in my memory 30 years later. We have markers that are the indelible type. I wonder if it is possible to forget the call of Gugubarra.

Not a brilliant photograph, but a marker of its own for the blip diary, the reason I particularly value it is this is the first time I have see a pair of kookaburras locked in each other's gaze and tense, posturing so I have to conclude that the reason I saw them, a gut wrenching 'laughing', one of the most beautiful sounds in the world, was the territorial announcement these two had arrived at a wedding arrangement.

I felt such an intruder.

For a recording of the kookaburra's call.

For Square September see Ambling Camera for the Square September Challenge...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.