WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Comfort zone (bis)

Vines! Trees! Sky! Clouds! Can't go wrong with that combination. These are vines near Buzet. The vines in the Corbières are quite unphotogenic at this time of year because they are just a mass of untidily flopping leaves, which is why I haven't blipped them that much recently. The leaves serve to keep the sun off the grapes so that they don't get sunburnt. Here, the leaves have clearly been neatly trimmed quite recently, so you get those irresistible (to me anyway) lines of vines.

I struggled to choose today; I took this before lunch, when it was still very cloudy. By 12 o'clock the sky was clearing, and masses of wonderful white cumulus were building up in a wide blue sky. By request (not mine!) we went on a special detour to photograph a lone tree and lines of vines. So I very nearly blipped this one. But in the end, despite the grey sky (enhanced a wee bit in Snapseed), I narrowly preferred the shades of green and the curves seen here. Best viewed large.

Apart from that, we visited more bastides, for the record Damazan and Vianne, both very pretty and well kept. I particularly liked Damazan, with its pretty central square surrouned by colourful buildings; Vianne's claim to fame is that its walls and four gates are still intact

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.