Odd Promotionals...

Do you know what this is?

A bolt, yes, but specifically, it is a truck bolt. I did a wee article on skateboard trucks a couple of weeks ago. Basically it's the bolts that hold skateboard wheels and axles onto the board.

This particular truck bolt I received in a rather odd way. It was packaged with my new gutties that I just bought (Tackky Maxx, £19.99. Hate to buy from there as opposed to a skateshop but needs must as the cost of bringing up 2 kids, bears). Not a full set of 8 truck bolts, just the one to match my new shoes, in the shoe company colours of course.

Actually, apart from the obvious colour co-ordination aesthetics it could have another less obvious use. Skateboards these days are pretty much symmetrical but sometimes, my case in point, the front and back trucks are different tightness. Having one odd bolt out of 8 ensures you don't have to turn the skateboard over (the graphic on the underneath would indicate direction) to check it's pointing it the direction you want it to.

Other odd promotional skateboard company items I've come across are things like nerf guns, plastic 80s sunglasses and the most socially one I've ever come across (it's in the BlipBank just now), a Carhartt lighter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.